The Master Course “European Legal Practice LL.M Eur” was established in 2004 by three European Law Faculties: University of Rouen, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Universidade Católica Portuguesa and was supported by the Erasmus Mundus Programme of the European Union.

In 2008/2009 there was a change in the partnership and Universidade Católica left the consortium having been replaced by University of Lisbon School of Law.

Since then Mykolas Romeris University has also joined the consortium, but as a European non-degree awarding partner, and four other universities from overseas have joined as non-degree awarding associated partner: Damas University of Christian Education (Brazil), Catholic University of Brasilia (Brazil), Symbiosis Law School (India), Ho Chi Minh City University (Vietnam).

This Master programme is based on the original foundation of Magister European Legal Practice MLE (ELPIS I), which involves 35 law faculties in almost all EU member states and EFTA countries dating back to 1985, and was born from the ELPIS Network.